Step 1- Message content
Select the channel from which your message will be sent. This option is useful when you own multiple channels. You can select only one channel from the list of your active and draft channels.
The created message will appear only in the message thread of the selected channel. Channel name appears as sender name to the end user.
Next, you will be asked to provide a title of your message (max 80 characters). This field is used only internally to differentiate between multiple of your messaging campaigns (end users do not see the title of your messages).
Enter the message you want to send to your end-users. Maximum 2000 characters.
Use this field to attach one image file to visually represent your message.
Notice: If you upload an image you cannot upload video as well.
Use this field to attach one video file to visually represent your message. If you upload video, you cannot upload an image as well.
Notice: If you upload a video you cannot upload an image as well.
These are some of the examples of messages being sent to end users with or without image/video and URL attachments.
Step 2 – Time-frame
Use this step to configure the start and end date of your message.
Set start date
Here you specify when do you want to start sending a message(s) to the end users. If you choose to skip this step, your message will be sent as soon as it has been published.
Example: use this field to schedule your message to start sending next Monday at 10 AM.
Notice: Once you set start date you will be able to change entered values only while the message is in Draft mode. Once the message is published, you will not be able to edit entered values again
Set end date
Specify the date and time from which your message will not be accessible (stop sending a message) to the end users. Once end date and time has been reached, the message will change the status to Finished and will be archived in the system.
Choose between daily, weekly, monthly and yearly recurrence for your message.
Example: set to send your message every day at 10 AM (daily recurrence) or choose to send it every Monday at 3 PM (weekly recurrence) or every 1st of the month at 9 AM (monthly recurrence).
Step 3 – Users
This is the last step in the message creation process. Here you can segment your message to be sent only to a specific end-user group, send a message when users arrive at the specific location(s) and/or request permission from tenant to broadcast message to all app users.
Example: Set the message to appear only on weekends at 9 AM, with weekend discount offers, and add your stores’ location(s) so the end-users can receive it when they pass by your store(s) on weekends.
By default, your message will be sent to all channel followers (or all app users if broadcasted through tenant). Use segmentation to send a message only to a specific target group.
To see how to create your own custom segmentation, check Segmentation section 5.
Example: use segmentation to send a message to the end-users who have been following your channel for 30 days or have reached a certain level in your loyalty program.
Set proximity targeting
By default, your message will be sent to all channel followers (or all app users if broadcasted through tenant). Use proximity targeting to send a message only to the end-users who appear at a certain location(s).
Example: send a message to the end users who walk pass my store. When end users walk pass my store, they will receive a message and in-app notification.
Notice: messages do not disappear from the chat thread once end-users leave your location(s).
Notice: partners cannot edit engagement once you approve it or reject it.
Based on your selection, you can see how many users are expected to receive your message. By default, target group value is equal to all followers of your selected channel. Based on the complexity of your segmentation, some target groups require some time to be calculated.
The target group cannot be calculated if you set proximity targeting or broadcast to all app users.
During the entire process of creating your channel, you will have multiple options displayed on the bottom of the wizard, that helps you navigate and change the status of your channel:
- Back – Move to the previous step of the channel creation wizard
- Next – move to the next step of the channel creation wizard
- Delete – this option completely removes a channel from the system. Available only while a channel is in draft Once deleted, a channel will disappear from the list of your channels.
When you reach the last step, options Save and Create & Publish appears. Option Save will save your changes and create a channel in draft status which makes it not visible to the end-users. While your channel is in the draft, use that time to create coupons or other engagements that will be available inside your channel, once you publish it. Once your channel is ready, you can make it live and available to the end-users by clicking on Create & Publish button.
When a channel becomes active, option Unpublish appears. This option allows you to temporarily disable your channel and make it unavailable to the end-users. Once disabled, a channel can be re-enabled by pressing the Publish button. During disabled status, all coupons inside your channel will be unavailable to the end-users.